Workshop V:
Catchments of the Future North: Towards Science for Management in the 21st Century

Workshop V:
Catchments of the Future North: Towards Science for Management in the 21st Century

The workshop was held in Potsdam, Germany, during the week of 21st May - 25th May 2012.


Workshop programme

The overall aim of North-Watch is to better understand the integrated consequences of climate change on the physical, chemical and biological characteristics of water resources across northern regions. To do this we want to bring together leading, cognate researchers working at long-term experimental catchments in different parts of the northern region comprising sensitive boreal, sub-arctic and sub-alpine environments. The purpose is to facilitate inter-catchment comparisons that will synthesize a comprehensive, interdisciplinary and regional understanding of the recent effects of climatic change and provide a stronger scientific basis for predicting what further changes are likely to be. Our belief is that an examination of a range of sites across a climatic transect in the northern zone will give a much stronger regional perspective on the responses to climatic change than any individual studies alone would do.

During the workshop, we focussed the presentations and discussions around three major themes:

  1. Learning from the past
  2. Towards a comparative ecohydrology of northern catchments: structure, functioning and sensitivity
  3. Projecting the non-stationary future: insights from catchment inter-comparisons




Invited Speaker Presentations




  • Ann-Kristin Bergstroem (Umeå Universitet, Sweden)
  • John Buffington (USDA Forest Service Science, Boise, US)
  • Jim Buttle (Trent University, Canada)
  • Sean Carey (McMaster University, Canada)
  • Irena Creed (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
  • Rick Cunjak (University New Brunswick, Canada)
  • Richard Essery (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Jim Freer (University of Bristol, UK)
  • Nikolai Friberg (Aarhus University, Denmark)
  • Gordon Grant (USDA Forest Service and Oregon State University, US)
  • Jim Kirchner (Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow, and Landscape Research (WSL) and Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Switzerland)
  • Hjalmar Laudon (SLU, Umeå, Sweden)
  • Jeff McDonnell (Oregon State University, US)
  • Kevin McGuire (Virginia Tech, US)
  • Diane Mcknight (University of Colorado, US)
  • Jim McNamara (Boise State University, US)
  • Myron Mitchell (SUNY, US)
  • Allan Rohde (University of Uppsala, Sweden)
  • Jan Seibert (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Jamie Shanley (U.S. Geological Survey, Montpelier, US)
  • Chris Soulsby (University of Aberdeen, UK)
  • Christina Tague (University of California, US)
  • Doerthe Tetzlaff (University of Aberdeen, UK)
  • Klement Tockner (Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB), Germany)