Royal Scottish Geographical Society
(Aberdeen Local Group)

Royal Scottish Geographical Society
(Aberdeen Local Group)

 Royal Scottish Geographical Society

The Aberdeen committee of the Royal Scottish Geographical Society (RSGS) meets regularly in the Department of Geography and Environment at the University of Aberdeen to provide support to the RSGS. 


The current Aberdeen committee comprises:

  • David R. Green (Chair)
  • Innes Ewen
  • Hugh Holmes
  • Charles Levitt
  • Evelyn Masson
  • Eric Masson
  • Gordon Murdoch
  • Mary R  Murray
  • Barbara Pickford
  • David Pickford
  • James Suttie


Regular evening and travellers talks take place each year at the University of Aberdeen. RSGS members, students (e.g. Geography and Geology), and the public are ALL welcome to attend the talks.  Student entry is FREE.

Information about upcoming public events can be found here.


The Aberdeen Local Group recently held the First Iain Rankin Student Presentations Workshop  in memory of  Iain Rankin who passed away in early 2018.

Further Information

For further information please contact:

David R. Green
(Chair - Aberdeen Local Group)