Data management and quality

Dr Jackson Armstrong (Digital humanities, historical text
and heritage resources, structuring historical textual data)
j.armstrong@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Murilo Baptista (Time-series analysis of nonlinear systems)
murilo.baptista@abdn.ac.uk

Prof Peter Edwards (Data provenance, data quality, semantic
models and ontologies, intelligent information infrastructures)
p.edwards@abdn.ac.uk

Matthew Collinson (Information security)
matthew.collinson@abdn.ac.uk

Dr David Cornwell (Tectonics, seismology, rifting,
geophysics, magmatism)
d.cornwell@abdn.ac.uk

Prof. Celso Grebogi (Dynamics of nonlinear and complex systems
including chaotic dynamics, fractal geometry, systems biology,
population dynamics, neurodynamics, fluid advection, relativistic
quantum nonlinear dynamics, and nanosystems)
grebogi@abdn.ac.uk

Prof John Howell (Petroleum geology, geology,
sedimentalogy, reservoir simulators)
john.howell@abdn.ac.uk

Dr David Iacopini (Seismic interpretation, seismic image
processing, interpretive seismic processing, structural
geology, basement tectonics)
d.iacopini@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Ehud Reiter (Natural-language generation, data-to-text systems)
e.reiter@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Gowri S Sripada (Natural language generation)
yaji.sripada@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Starkey (Automated sentiment analysis of textual data)
a.starkey@abdn.ac.uk

Prof Marco Thiel (Dynamical systems theory, recurrences,
mathematical modelling, hypothesis testing, surrogates,
mathematics of distance inequalities, network theory, emergent
properties, synchronisation, gene expression, bacterial responses
to multiple stresses, computational neuroscience)
m.thiel@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Adam Wyner (Artificial intelligence and law, natural language
processing, semantic technologies, intelligent contracts,
automated legislation, legal text processing)
azwyner@abdn.ac.uk

Data mining and machine learning

Dr Murilo Baptista (Complex systems approaches
to characterising and modelling the data email)
murilo.baptista@abdn.ac.uk

Prof George M. Coghill (Data mining, bio-inspired computing,
anomaly detection, model-based reasoning, model learning)
g.coghill@abdn.ac.uk

Dr. Chenghua Lin (Machine learning, data/text mining, natural
language processing, sentiment analysis and intention detection)
chenghua.lin@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Wei Pang (Data clustering/classification, anomaly detection,
sensor data analysis, data regression, information networks)
pang.wei@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Ehud Reiter (Natural-language generationand data-to-text
systems)
e.reiter@abdn.ac.uk

Prof. Bjoern Schelter (Data-based modelling and model-based
data analysis in life sciences)
b.schelter@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Gowri S Sripada (Natural language generation)
yaji.sripada@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Starkey (Automated analysis of data, automated
clustering, automated feature extraction, analysis of big data,
textual analysis techniques)
a.starkey@abdn.ac.uk

Prof Marco Thiel (Dynamical systems theory, recurrences,
mathematical modelling, hypothesis testing, surrogates,
mathematics of distance inequalities, network theory,
emergent properties, synchronisation, gene expression,
bacterial responses to multiple stresses, computational
neuroscience)
m.thiel@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Adam Wyner (Artificial intelligence and law, natural language
processing, semantic technologies, intelligent contracts,
automated legislation, legal text processing)
azwyner@abdn.ac.uk

Data communication, visualisation and intelligent interfaces


Dr Nir Oren (Explanation of decision making)
n.oren@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Murilo Baptista (Energy saving, high bit rates,
wireless chaos-based communication)
murilo.baptista@abdn.ac.uk

Dr David Cornwell (Tectonics, seismology, rifting,
geophysics, magmatism)
d.cornwell@abdn.ac.uk

Prof. Celso Grebogi (Dynamics of nonlinear and complex systems
including chaotic dynamics, fractal geometry, systems biology,
population dynamics, neurodynamics, fluid advection, relativistic
quantum nonlinear dynamics, and nanosystems)
grebogi@abdn.ac.uk

Prof John Howell (Petroleum geology, geology, sedimentalogy,
reservoir simulators)
john.howell@abdn.ac.uk

Dr David Iacopini (Seismic interpretation, seismic image
processing, interpretive seismic processing, structural geology,
basement tectonics)
d.iacopini@abdn.ac.uk

Dr. Chenghua Lin (Machine learning, data/text mining, natural
language processing, sentiment analysis and intention detection)
chenghua.lin@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Ehud Reiter (Natural-language generation
and data-to-text systems)
e.reiter@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Gowri S Sripada (Natural language generation)
yaji.sripada@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Starkey (Automated optimisation and 3D analysis
of data such as seismic data or MRI scans)
a.starkey@abdn.ac.uk

Economics, environment and ethics


Prof Peter Edwards (Data privacy, trust models, data governance)
p.edwards@abdn.ac.uk

Prof. David Lusseau (Environmental decision support systems,
choice and behaviour, environmental impact, sustainability,
social and ecological modelling)
d.lusseau@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Nir Oren (Data and privacy, policy specification and evaluation,
transportation, mechanism design)
n.oren@abdn.ac.uk