Recognising commitment to the advancement of gender equality in academia.

The School of Education is committed to the advancement of gender equality and opposes all forms of inequality and discrimination. 

As a school, we aspire to the principles of the Athena Swan Charter and are currently seeking to adopt these principles in our policies and practices. We were the first School of Education in Scotland to achieve the Athena Swan Bronze award and are now working towards the Silver award.

The Athena Swan initiative was developed by the Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) in 2005. It was set up to address gender inequalities in Higher Education, including those arising from discrimination, underrepresentation, the gender pay gap, barriers to career progression and the use of short-term contracts, as set out in the Athena Swan Charter (2005). 

Our Athena Swan ‘Self-Assessment Team’ (SAT) is led by Prof Donald Gray and Dr Carol Hickman and includes representatives from our staff and student body.  The work of the team is wholeheartedly supported by the wider school community. 

Please read more about Athena Swan here.