Surname Name Research Expertise Email
Ackland Dr Aileen Critical pedagogies a.ackland@abdn.ac.uk
Barlow Dr Will Educational Drama (Drama Conventions approach), pupil/learner voice, Looked After Children's Educational Outcomes, and Transitions william.barlow@abdn.ac.uk
Bruce Mrs Jayne Exploring different pedagogical approaches to build teacher confidence in undertaking and completing Master's level learning within the context of mentoring and coaching development j.h.bruce@abdn.ac.uk
Colucci-Gray Dr Laura

Educational approaches to promote dialogue and participation on food and energy issues, outdoor learning and mental health and well-being

i.t.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Cornelius Ms Sarah

Design, development, implementation and evaluation of digital learning, learners' and teachers' experiences of technology enhanced learning, including mobile learning, MOOCs, virtual classrooms and online collaboration

s.cornelius@abdn.ac.uk
Curtis Dr Elizabeth Anthropological approaches to how people make sense of the past in their experiences of being outdoors.  Embodied learning is a particular interest and my research ranges from exploring how schools have embedded archaeological exploration into the curriculum to the role of everyday family activities in developing positive heritage practices elizabeth.curtis@abdn.ac.uk
Darling-Mcquistan Dr Kirsten Practitioner enquiry, particularly 'self-study' and the creative use of research methodologies for classroom practice kirsten.darling-mcquistan@abdn.ac.uk
Dewhurst Mrs Yvonne Qualitative design and analysis (particularly hermeneutic phenomenology), student teachers' school placement experiences, sense of belonging and contemporary issues within the field of Home Economics y.dewhurst@abdn.ac.uk
Foy Mrs Katrina Games Based Learning (GBL)  and Design Based Research (DBR) methodologies kfoy@abdn.ac.uk
Graham Dr Archie Student teachers' attitudes and beliefs toward children living in poverty and their practice responsiveness a.graham@abdn.ac.uk
Gray Dr Donald Science society and sustainability issues and how these are addressed in educational contexts, outdoor learning and place-based education and theoretical perspectives underpinning the value of outdoor, natural environmental experiential education with particular reference to embodied cognition.  I also have an interest in creativity and arts-based approaches to learning, teaching and research d.s.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Irwin Professor Ruth Ruth Irwin's work is a combination of Continental Philosophy, technology, education, cultural studies, and climate change.  She is particularly interested in Heidegger, Deleuze and Guattari, feminist indigenous philosophy

ruth.irwin@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

Johnston Dr David Student teachers' school placement experiences from the perspective of relationships, communities of practice and belongingness d.h.johnston@abdn.ac.uk
MacDonald Mrs Catriona Ann Using 'Shared Learning Spaces' through video and technology to support students understanding of Classroom Practice and Effective Pedagogies catriona.a.macdonald@abdn.ac.uk
MacDougall Mrs Lindsey Student teachers' experiences of assessment during practicum, and student teachers' interpretations and responses to working with children living in poverty  i.m.macdougall@abdn.ac.uk
McLennan Mr Neil Areas of improvement and leadership across and beyond public services. Skill development, values and wider humanities and citizenship issues neil.mclennan@abdn.ac.uk
Martin Dr Helen Mathematics  h.martin@abdn.ac.uk
Mitka Dr Peter International and comparative education. Teacher education for equity and social justice, teacher identity and beliefs, teacher candidates learning and development  p.mtika@abdn.ac.uk
Mulligan Mrs Aloyise Student teachers' use of technology to support their learning and how this might influence their use of technology in the classroom.  Use of technology to support learning and teaching within the University aloyiesemulligan@abdn.ac.uk
Nixon Dr Graeme Religious Education, Thinking Skills, Mindfulness and the development of rational autonomy in education g.nixon@abdn.ac.uk
Nutkins Mrs Sheila Professional Identity and status of early childhood education and care professionals; impact of continuing professional development in terms of outcomes for children; assessment of students engaged in ITE; joint training towards better inter-disciplinary/professional practice  s.nutkins@abdn.ac.uk
Paterson Mr Alan Child-centred approach to visual art education which prioritises learner ownership of creativity, develops learner sensitivity to the work of others and celebrates individual and collective creative processes a.w.b.paterson@abdn.ac.uk
Paterson Ms Sandra Online Counselling; Personality Types; Online Learning Styles; Personal, Universal and Targeted Support for Young People in Scottish Schools; Personal, Social Development and Health and Well-being: National Delivery and Curriculum for Excellence; Careers Guidance and Counselling; Networked Teaching and Learning delivery in Higher Education; Connecting Learners through Webcams  s.m.paterson@abdn.ac.uk
Ravet Dr Jaqueline Autism/ inclusive practice, pupil voice research j.ravet@abdn.ac.uk
Reid Ms Val Student experience and the strategies that they feel empower them both on campus and in the practical classroom environment  v.reid@abdn.ac.uk
Robson Dr Dean Quantitative and mixed methods research, with specific interests in the broad area of student and early career teacher professional learning and development, including practitioner enquiry, partnership and mentoring d.robson@abdn.ac.uk
Shanks Dr Rachel Professional learning including workplace learning, informal learning, mentoring, and professional standards; learning through digital technologies; community learning and development in rural areas; and education law  r.k.shanks@abdn.ac.uk
Siddique Dr Salma Dialogue between psychoanalysis, psyhcotherapy and anthropology. Influenced by her clinical experience working with people in trauma resulting from torture and fleeing conflict zones by crossing continents; with adults and young people with mental health issues or experiences of abuse s.siddique@abdn.ac.uk
Smith Dr David Religion, Philosophy, LGBT, and Education  davidsmith@abdn.ac.uk
Spratt Dr Jenny The policy and practice of the school as a site for promotion and support of health: young people's mental health and well-being, young people's sexual health and well-being; inter-agency working; the perceived relationships between learning and health and well-being; discourses of well-being in the school context; Inclusive Pedagogy as a conceptual framework to inform the decisions that teachers make about inclusion in their classrooms j.spratt@abdn.ac.uk
 Stephen  Mrs Mary  Early Years Education  m.stephen@abdn.ac.uk
 Stewart  Ms Lorna Research interest relates to confidence and competence in maths and numeracy within the primary school  lorna.stewart@abdn.ac.uk
 Thomson  Stephanie    
 White  Dr Robert Social, emotional and mental health needs of children  robert.white@abdn.ac.uk