Surname Name Research Expertise Email
Ackland Dr Aileen My interest in critical pedagogies is fundamental to my University teaching as well as being the focus of my research a.ackland@abdn.ac.uk
Bain Dr Yvonne Research interests in learning online environments and the development of teacher education and teacher educators y.c.bain@abdn.ac.uk
Barlow Mr Will Educational Drama (Drama Conventions approach), pupil/learner voice, Looked After Children's Educational Outcomes, and Transitions william.barlow@abdn.ac.uk
Beaton Dr Mhairi Dr Mhairi C Beaton's research interests focus on the intersection of inclusion, student voice and assessment m.beaton@abdn.ac.uk
Bruce Mrs Jayne Current research interests relate to exploring different pedagogical approaches to build teacher confidence in undertaking and completing Master's level learning within the context of mentoring and coaching development j.h.bruce@abdn.ac.uk
Colucci-Gray Dr Laura

Dr Laura Colucci-Gray has expertise in interdisciplinary studies in the field of sustainability.  With a background in science education, she has developed educational approaches to promote dialogue

and participation on food and energy issues, and has developed courses on outdoor learning and mental health and well-being.

i.t.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Cornelius Ms Sarah

Sarah has expertise in the design, development, implementation and evaluation of digital learning and has undertaken research into learner's and teacher's experiences of technology enhanced learning,

including mobile learning, MOOCs, virtual classrooms and online collaboration.

s.cornelius@abdn.ac.uk
Coyle Professor Do

My current research involves teacher-learning networks for analysing effective CLIL practice using digital tools and virtual spaces, as well as carrying out collaborative research in Austria and Italy to

investigate pluriliteracies in CLIL settings

do.coyle@abdn.ac.uk
Curtis Dr Elizabeth I have expertise in the anthropological approaches to how people make sense of the past in their experiences of being outdoors.  Embodied learning is a particular interest and my research ranges from exploring how schools have embedded archaeological exploration into the curriculum to the role of everyday family activities in developing positive heritage practices.  I have also been funded through the AHRC to support Community History projects around Scotland elizabeth.curtis@abdn.ac.uk
Darling-Mcquistan Dr Kirsten Interested practitioner enquiry, particularly 'self-study' and the creative use of research methodologies for classroom practice kirsten.darling-mcquistan@abdn.ac.uk
Dewhurst Mrs Yvonne Master of Research (Social and Educational Research). Interested in qualitative design and analysis (particularly hermeneutic phenomenology), student teacher's school placement experiences, sense of belonging and contemporary issues within the field of Home Economics y.dewhurst@abdn.ac.uk
Foy Mrs Katrina Katrina Foy is interested in Games Based Learning (GBL)  and Design Based Research (DBR) methodologies kfoy@abdn.ac.uk
Graham Dr Archie I am currently researching student teacher's attitudes and beliefs toward children living in poverty and their practice responsiveness. a.graham@abdn.ac.uk
Gray Dr Donald As well as general research related to teacher education, I am particularly interested in science society and sustainability issues and how these are addressed in educational contexts. In addition I am interested in outdoor learning and place-based education and theoretical perspectives underpinning the value of outdoor, natural environmental experiential education with particular reference to embodied cognition.  I also have an interest in creativity and arts-based approaches to learning, teaching and research. d.s.gray@abdn.ac.uk
Irwin Professor Ruth Ruth Irwin's work is a combination of Continental Philosophy, technology, education, cultural studies, and climate change.  She is particularly interested in Heidegger, Deleuze and Guattari, feminist indigenous philosophy.

ruth.irwin@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

Johnston Mr David David Johnston's research experience is around teacher's school placement experiences and has written about this from the perspective of relationships, communities of practice and belongingness d.h.johnston@abdn.ac.uk
MacDonald Mrs Catriona Ann Using 'Shared Learning Spaces' through video and technology to support students understanding of Classroom Practice and Effective Pedagogies. catriona.a.macdonald@abdn.ac.uk
MacDougall Mrs Lindsey Research interests include student teachers experiences of assessment during practicum, and student teachers interpretations and responses to, working with children living in poverty  i.m.macdougall@abdn.ac.uk
McLennan Mr Neil Neil McLennan is interested in areas of improvement and leadership across and beyond public services.  He retains an interest in skill development, values and wider humanities and citizenship issues neil.mclennan@abdn.ac.ul
Martin Dr Helen Mathematics  h.martin@abdn.ac.uk
Mitka Dr Peter My main research interest is in the broad area of international and comparative education. I am particularly education. I am particularly interested in teacher education for equity and social justice, teacher identity and beliefs, teacher candidates learning and development  p.mtika@abdn.ac.uk
Mulligan Mrs Aloyise I completed my Master's dissertation on the factors influencing teacher's use of digital games based learning.  I am interested in student's use of technology to support their learning and how this might influence their use of technology in the classroom.  I am also interested in the use of technology to support learning and teaching within the University. aloyiesemulligan@abdn.ac.uk
Nixon Dr Graeme Dr Nixon's research expertise is in the fields of Religious Education, Thinking Skills, Mindfulness and the development of rational autonomy in education. g.nixon@abdn.ac.uk
Nutkins Mrs Sheila Professional Identity and status of early childhood education and care professionals; impact of continuing professional development in terms of outcomes for children; assessment of students engaged in ITE; joint training towards better inter-disciplinary/professional practice.  s.nutkins@abdn.ac.uk
Paterson Mr Alan To continue to develop and promote a child-centred approach to visual art education which prioritises learner ownership of creativity, develops learner sensitivity to the work of others and celebrates individual and collective creative processes. a.w.b.paterson@abdn.ac.uk
Paterson Ms Sandra Online Counselling; Personality Types: Online Learning Styles; Personal, Universal and Targeted Support for Young People in Scottish Schools; Personal, Social Development and Health and Well-being: National Delivery and Curriculum for Excellence; Careers Guidance and Counselling; Networked Teaching and Learning delivery in Higher Education; Connecting Learners through Webcams.  s.m.paterson@abdn.ac.uk
Ravet Dr Jaqueline Autism/inclusive practice/pupil voice research j.ravet@abdn.ac.uk
Reid Ms Val Area of interest is action research looking at student experience and the strategies that they feel empower them both on campus and in the practical classroom environment  v.reid@abdn.ac.uk
Robson Dr Dean Dr Dean Robson has expertise in quantitative and mixed methods research, with specific interests in the broad area of (student and early career) teacher professional learning and development, including practitioner enquiry, partnership and mentoring. d.robson@abdn.ac.uk
Shanks Dr Rachel Dr Rachel Shanks researches professional learning including workplace learning, informal learning, mentoring, and professional standards; learning through digital technologies; community learning and development in rural areas; and education law  r.k.shanks@abdn.ac.uk
Siddique Dr Salma Salma's main research interests are based on the dialogue between psychoanalysis, psyhcotherapy and anthropology.  Influenced by her clinical experience working with people in trauma resulting from torture and fleeing conflict Zones by crossing continents; with adults and young people with mental health issues or experiences of abuse.  She continues to practise as a volunteer psychotherapist and supervises trainee and qualified psychotherapists and counsellors. s.siddique@abdn.ac.uk
Smith Dr David Religion, Philosophy, LGBT, and Education  davidsmith@abdn.ac.uk
Spratt Dr Jenny Jenny's main interests are: The policy and practice of the school as a site for promotion and support of health: young people's mental health and well-being, young people's sexual health and well-being; inter-agency working; the perceived relationships between learning and health and well-being; discourses of well-being in the school context; Inclusive Pedagogy as a conceptual framework to inform the decisions that teachers make about inclusion in their classrooms. j.spratt@abdn.ac.uk
 Stephen  Mrs Mary  Mary's interests are linked to Early Years Education  m.stephen@abdn.ac.uk
 Stewart  Ms Lorna  Research interest relates to confidence and competence in maths and numeracy within the primary school  lorna.stewart@abdn.ac.uk
 Weir  Mr Douglas Douglas Weir has a long-term interest in the development and implementation of government (local and national) policy and practice with regard to the professional education of teachers  d.weir@abdn.ac.uk
 White  Dr Robert Robert's contributions to research and scholarship has gained national and international recognition with his research concentration in the social, emotional and mental health needs of children  robert.white@abdn.ac.uk