SMMSN Summer Scholarship Symposium

SMMSN Summer Scholarship Symposium

The Summer Research Scholarships Symposium SMMSN 2018 took place on Wednesday 14 November 2018. This is a yearly event where summer scholarship students present their research.

The Institute of Dentistry was well represented at the symposium and two of our students received prizes for their excellent work under the Aberdeen Summer Research Scholarship (ASRS) scheme. These were judged by senior academics from across the School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition (SMMSN) in addition to a group of student peers.

Mhairi McGowan (BDS4) in collaboration with a medical student (Sayed Almoosawy) won the prize for the best oral presentation in their session. Their work was supervised by Dr Karolin Hijazi, Dr George Cherukara, Prof Rona Patey and Mr Paul Bachoo.

Kelvin Onyinah (BDS3) received one of the two prizes for the best posters in his session. His work was supervised by Dr Ekta Gupta and Dr Malcolm Stewart.

Other participants from the Institute of Dentistry included:

Owens Iguodala (BDS4) who worked under the supervision of Dr Cherukara

Shirleen Hallang (BDS4) who worked under the supervision of Dr Hijazi

Vlad-Costin Iliescu (BDS3) who worked under the supervision of Prof Jayasinghe

Congratulations to everyone involved.

The 2018 Summer Research Symposium Abstract Booklet can be viewed here.