About the Centre

The Centre for Academic Development brings together the former Centre for Learning & Teaching with the Researcher Development Team to provide support for the development of teaching, learning and research within an integrated structure. It also provides support for eLearning and eAssessment. We recognise that professional development for teaching is about much more than attending courses. The Centre also:

  • works in partnership with individual lecturers or groups of staff tackling complex issues in teaching, learning and assessment,
  • facilitates the University's Postgraduate Certificate in Higher Education Learning & Teaching, which is accredited by the Higher Education Academy,
  • supports staff in the use of eLearning,
  • supports students in developing effective learning strategies.

If you wish to discuss any of these options further, in the first instance please contact the Centre for Academic Devlopment by emailing cad@abdn.ac.uk or calling 01224 272 406 / 01224 273 030.

Centre Staff Contact Details

 

Centre Administration:

Sophie Dietrich

Centre Secretary

sophie.dietrich1@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 3030

Lynn McKenzie

Centre Co-ordinator & PA to Vice-Principal for Learning & Teaching

lynn.mckenzie@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 2406 / 01224 27 3030

Patricia Spence

Centre Manager

p.spence@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 3924

Educational Development:

Dr Darren Comber

Senior Educational Development Adviser

d.comber@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 3612

Dr Joy Perkins

Educational & Employability Adviser (0.5 FTE)

j.perkins@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 3113

Researcher Development:

Dr Lucy Leiper

Senior Research Development Adviser (0.8 FTE)

l.leiper@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 4580

Dr Masha Shaw

Research Development Adviser

masha.shaw@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 4583

Frances Vaughan

Enterprise Project Officer (0.6 FTE)

frances.vaughan@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 2446

eLearning:

Ms Ana Ciocarlan

eLearning Adviser

ana.ciocarlan@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 3297

Mr Peter Jeffels

eLearning Adviser (0.6 FTE)

p.jeffels@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 3766

Dr Sara Preston

Senior eLearning Adviser

s.preston@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 4371

Mr Phil Whieldon

eLearning Adviser

p.jeffels@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 3508

Ms Rhian Wood

eLearning Adviser (0.8 FTE)

r.wood@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 4254

Dr Andy Yule

eLearning Adviser (0.8 FTE)

a.b.yule@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 2834

Student Surveys & Evaluations:

Dr Colin Calder Senior eLearning Advisor colin.calder@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 3768

Student Learning Service:

Dr Chloe Alexander

Academic Skills Adviser (0.5 FTE)

chloe.alexander@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 3523

Mrs Wendy Lawrenson

Academic Skills Adviser (0.6 FTE)

w.g.lawrenson@abdn.ac.uk 01224 27 2373

Dr Mary Pryor

Senior Academic Skills Adviser (0.5 FTE)

m.r.pryor@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 3523

Dr Morgiane Richard

Academic Skills Adviser (Maths) (0.5 FTE)

m.richard@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 4175

Dr Julie Ross

Academic Skills Adviser (Dyslexia) (0.5 FTE)

julie.ross@abdn.ac.uk

01224 27 3032