AMS Logo


Aberdeen Mechanical Society

AMS Logo

Our awards

We offer two annual prizes to up and coming Engineers.

The Reginald V Jones prize was a trophy awarded to the best team effort in the Schools building challenge competition of the annual Aberdeen Techfest, the criteria being the best ingenuity, innovation, observation and precision. The prize is named after the late Professor R. V. Jones, Honarary President of the Society for many years, who was intimately concerned with design and sensitive performance for the whole of his professional life as a scientific instrument innovator.

It was awarded in its inaugural year 1998 to a team from the 3rd year class at Peterhead Academy composed of Paula Burnett, Christina McLeman, Matthew Dean and Andrew Beaumont for their design and build of a crane.

The prize is now awarded to the most innovative project work by a 4th year Engineering at the University of Aberdeen.

First RV Jones prize winners

RV Jones prize winners in 2001

In 2000, the R V Jones prize was awarded to team 2 of the Aberdeen Grammar School, seen here with their teacher Trevor Jones receiving the trophy from AMS president Sandy Mess. The team of Judith Swanson, Rose Grogan, Jennifer Garden and Jeremy Watt won with their model crane. In 2001, the RV Jones prize was awarded to St Machar Academy for constructing the most ingenious floating platform in keeping with the competition rules. Their team were Alison Hunter, Anna Koudeleva, Alison Law and Amy Myatt, organised by teacher Patricia Angus. They are seen above receiving the prize from AMS president Sandy Mess.


The AMS certificate and prize is awarded to the best second year student in Mechanical Engineering in year 2 of the RGU course.


In 2000, the certificate and prize was awarded to Robert Stephen, shown left being presented by President Sandy Mess. He shared the prize with Keith Martin (in absentia).

AMS certificate and prize being awarded

AMS homepage

AMS Homepage

Initial design by John S. Reid
Last updated September 2008