Elphinstone Hall was designed and built in 1930 by A. Marshall Mackenzie to take over the functions which the original Great Hall had performed before being demolished in 1870. It provides a large examination hall which can also be used for dining and recreational purposes, and a series of additional reception rooms. The Hall plays host to the University's graduation ceremonies.
It was constructed of sandstone (rather than the granite that characterises most buildings in Aberdeen). Stones were used from Castle Newe in Strathdon which was built in 1831 and demolished in 1927. The coats of arms above the arcade belong to some of the benefactors and local bodies.
The Hall has a hammer-beam roof and oak-panelled walls. This, combined with some of the oldest oil canvas paintings in Scotland, creates a unique backdrop.