Term Dates 2012-2013

Students for all First Degrees (except MB ChB, BDS and BSc Med Sci) and for Taught Postgraduate Programmes (unless otherwise specified)

FIRST HALF-SESSION

SECOND HALF-SESSION

Winter Term Opens

Tuesday 18 September 2012

Half-Session Commences

Sunday 27 January 2013

Winter Term Closes

Friday 14 December 2012

Spring Term Closes

Friday 22 March 2013

Spring Term Opens

Monday 7 January 2013

Summer Term Opens

Monday 15 April 2013

First Written Examination

Saturday 12 January 2013

First Written Examination

Saturday 18 May 2013

Half-Session Ends

Saturday 26 January 2013

Summer Term Closes

Friday 7 June 2013

Students for the Degrees of MB ChB and BSc Med Sci

 

FIRST YEAR

SECOND YEAR

THIRD YEAR

Winter Term Opens

Tuesday 18 September 2012

Monday 24 September 2012

Monday 10 September 2012

Winter Term Closes

Friday 14 December 2012

Friday 14 December 2012

Friday 14 December 2012

Spring Term Opens

Monday 7 January 2013

Monday 7 January 2013

Monday 7 January 2013

Spring Term Closes

Friday 22 March 2013

Friday 22 March 2013

Friday 22 March 2013

Summer Term Opens

Monday 15 April 2013

Monday 15 April 2013

Monday 6 May 2013

Summer Term Closes

Friday 7 June 2013

Friday 28 June 2013

Friday 26 July 2013*

 

 

FOURTH YEAR

FIFTH YEAR

BSc Med Sci

Winter Term Opens

Wednesday 1 August 2012*

Monday 13 August 2012

Tuesday 18 September 2012

Winter Term Closes

Friday 14 December 2012

Friday 14 December 2012

Friday 14 December 2012

Spring Term Opens

Monday 7 January 2013

Monday 7 January 2013

Monday 7 January 2013

Spring Term Closes

Friday 19 April 2013

Friday 26 April 2013

Tuesday 14 May 2013

Summer Term Opens

Monday 29 April 2013

Monday 6 May 2013

Vivas held on 10 June 2013

Summer Term Closes

Friday 28 June 2013

Friday 14 June 2013

 

* Please confirm date with MBChB Office.

Students for the Degree of BDS

 

FIRST YEAR

SECOND AND THIRD YEAR

FOURTH YEAR

Winter Term Opens

Tuesday 18 September 2012

Monday 27 August 2012

Monday 27 August 2012

Winter Term Closes

Friday 14 December 2012

Friday 14 December 2012

Friday 14 December 2012

Spring Term Opens

Monday 7 January 2013

Monday 7 January 2013

Monday 7 January 2013

Spring Term Closes

Friday 29 March 2013

Friday 29 March 2013

Friday 29 March 2013

Summer Term Opens

Monday 8 April 2013

Monday 8 April 2013

Monday 8 April 2013

Summer Term Closes

Friday 12 July 2013

Friday 12 July 2013

May 31 2013

Students for the Professional Graduate Diploma in Education (PGDE) (Primary and Secondary)

Winter Term Opens

Thursday 23 August 2012

Winter Term Closes

Friday 14 December 2012

Spring Term Opens

Monday 17 January 2013

Spring Term Closes

Friday 22 March 2013

Summer Term Opens

Monday 15 April 2013

Summer Term Closes

Friday 14 June 2013

Note: The Winter Term for students on the PGDE programmes (Primary and Secondary) includes a Reading Week, which will run from Saturday 13 October 2012 to Sunday 21 October 2012, inclusive.

Research Students

The academic year for postgraduate research students commences on 1 October. Registration is on the first working day thereafter (or the first working day in the month for students whose studies commence between 1 November 2012 and 1 September 2013).

Graduation Ceremonies

Winter Graduation Ceremonies: 29 and 30 November 2012
Summer Graduation Ceremonies: 1 – 5 July 2013